Less than thirty minutes, but a world away from Port Arthur, Spreydon Park farm is located on the shores of Norfolk Bay at Saltwater River on the beautiful Tasman Peninsula. It commands views of picturesque landscapes, stunning seascapes, interesting built heritage and romantic ruins.
Finally abandoned in 1877 it was subdivided and sold off to free settlers. 155 acres including the Superintendent's House, the Catechist's House and the Semaphore site was granted to Herbert Smith and named Spreydon. It then passed to a succession of owners including Messrs. Perkins, Rigby, Jenkins, Burden and McWilliams. Most persevered for only a few short years, defeated by the prevailing dry conditions.
a focal point
The presence of the convict built jetty ensured that Saltwater River became a focal point for the scattered farming community in the area. From convict times the road journey to Hobart had been long and arduous and most passenger and freight transport was by trading ketch and steamer. It was only in 1940s that road transport became economically viable and finally put an end to the steamers.
The property was purchased in 1931 by Mr. Stephen Bresnehan and became one of the largest farms on the Tasman Peninsula, comprising some 4500 acres running sheep and cattle. It remained in the Bresnehan family until 1972 when it was sold to Glenila Orchards, subdivided into small lots and sold off.
rebuilding the farm
The Superintendent's House on 1 acre was purchased by us in 1990. Wherever possible we have purchased additional adjoining land and consolidated titles. We conserved the built heritage and raised a family here. The property is now listed on the Tasmanian heritage register in order to protect the historic cultural landscape that we value above all else. We run a prime lamb enterprise on the farm and now produce exceptional cool climate wines.